The finalists for the Third Sector Awards have been announced to honour the most notable leaders of the not-for-profit sector.

The finalists for the Third Sector Awards have been announced, celebrating Australia’s most notable executive leaders and decision-makers in the sector.

The awards are an opportunity for leaders and volunteers to demonstrate leadership and innovation within their organisation and the community. They were judged based on their social impact, outcomes, collaboration and leadership.

Katherine Raskob, CEO of the Fundraising Institute of Australia and one of the judges, said: “The best candidates demonstrated significant areas of innovation within their organisation and were the ones who stood out.

“All candidates were so good that trying to find one area where they were above the others was really difficult. But there were a couple that were able to demonstrate quite significant innovation, either in the way that they approached new business roles or new partnerships or in new systems of thinking.”

The awards, put together in partnership with Centre for Social Impact, judged sector leaders on Emerging Leader of the Year, CEO of the Year, Board Director of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Social Entrepreneur of the Year, Campaign/Marketing Executive of the Year, Young Leader of the Year and Influencer of the Year.

Each of the winners from the group of finalists will be awarded in recognition of the significant impact they have made either as individuals or as part of an organisation.

Raskob said the challenge in voting for Volunteer of the Year was due to each of their commitments to the organisation they were a part of: “I really loved all the stories and the entries were so inspiring and motivating. That was challenging for me to judge because they were all so impressive in many different ways.”

The awards night is part of the upcoming Third Sector Live, the conference that brings together sector leaders in a unique opportunity for Australia’s not-for-profits.

Attendees will hear from industry leaders about the role of the third sector, including the Commissioner of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission, Gary Johns. Other speakers include Shadow Minister for Charities and Not-for-profits, Andrew Leigh, and CEO of National Aids Trust UK, Deborah Gold.

Winners will be announced on the Awards Night on September 25.


The award finalists are:

Emerging Leader of the Year

Charlotte Sangster – Muscular Dystrophy NSW

Madeleine Gates – Sylvanvale Foundation

Malinda Wink – Good Pitch Australia _ Shark Island Institute

Sarah Walker – Third Sector Australia Ltd

Tim Robertson – Third Sector Australia Ltd



CEO of the Year

Brendan Lonergan – Beehive Industries Cooperative

Brian Hewitt – Carbal medical Services

Jacques Stap – New Haven Farm Home

Jonathan Nicholas – Reach Out

Nigel Fidgeon – Merri Health


Board Director of the Year

Carolyn Clark – Sacred Heart Mission

Christine Pope – ATMS

Greg Nairn – Dandelion Support Network (DSN)

Kim Jones – Hear For You

Iris Cloud – Community Vision


Volunteer of the Year

Bernie Macken – Sacred Heart Mission

Katie Parkes –   Settlement Services International

Noreen Vu –   Orange Sky Canberra. Org

Pat Pedicini – Sacred Heart Mission

Sally Hetherington – Human and Hope Association Incorporate


Social Entrepreneur of the Year

Cassandra Treadwell – So They Can

Dr Pool – The Healthy Strides Foundation

Josh Ross – Humanitix

Jessica Brown – TLife Changing Experiences Foundation

Tania de Jong AM – Creativity Australia and the With One Voice

Carmel Molloy – The NonProfit Alliance


Campaign / Marketing Executive of the Year

Alix Pearce – Cities Power Partnership, The Climate Council

Craig McMillan – Australian Childhood Foundation

Dion Pretorius – Science Technology Australia (STA)

Jessica Pagano – The Charter Hall

Viviana Rosas – Merri Health


Young Leader of the Year

Anyier Yuol  – SSI

Jobeth Winton – Mirima Dawang Woorlab-gerring Language and Culture Centre

Khushi Shelat – ChangeMakerHer

Janelle Graham – Shepparton Diversity Group

Shadeene Evans  – John Moriarty Football and The Nangala Project


Influencer of the Year – Judge’s Choice

Donna Law –

Dr Matthew Turnour

Julie Garland

Now only one thing remain – Join us for the gala dinner and support your peers! Click here for tickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *